Does It Contain Gluten? Basic Principles for Gluten-Free Diet
There is a happy healthy life even if there is no gluten is it. This guide will help you to learn basic points about this nutrition type. Just a small note before start – it’s not medical advices, those ones you have to get from a doctor.
Foods without gluten which made from grains and grain-similar plants:
- • All kinds of corn
- • All kinds of plain rice
- • Amaranth, buckwheat, arrowroot, cassava, millet, flax, quinoa, soy, tapioca, sorghum and teff.
- • Flours produced from gluten-free grains, beans, nuts, coconut. To elude cross-contamination just be careful in label reading.
Annatto, lecithin, glucose syrup, maltodextrin (it’s allowed made from wheat too), plain spices, oat gum, silicon dioxide, food starch, starch and vinegar (except malt vinegar that contain gluten). Also lactic, citric and malic acids too sucrose, lactose and dextrose; and these baking products: cornstarch, arrowroot, guar and xanthan gums, starch or tapioca flour, vanilla, potato starch.
The following foods:
- • Milk, margarine, butter, plain yogurt, real cheese, most ice cream if they don’t’ contain add-ins with gluten.
- • Vegetable oil, canola.
- • Plain fruits, meat, vegetables (any kind and stuff), seafood, eggs, potatoes, nut butters, nuts, legumes and beans.
- • Distilled vinegar (except malt).
- • Distilled alcoholic drinks. The distillation process removes gluten effectively. But as usual it’s worthy to read label because the beverage can contain additional stuff with gluten.
- • Mono and diglycerides.
- • Spices. Sure it’s about pure spicy, if it’s a mix then read its label carefully.
All forms of wheat, komut, spelt, durum, einkorn, triticale (wheat and rye combination), semolina, farina, matzo, cake flour, couscous. So stay away from cakes, breads, cereals, cookies, pasta, pretzels, pizza crusts because wheat can be finding there. Same advice – read labels, wheat can be included everywhere.
- If the name of product has “wheat” inside it means gluten mostly, it’s only exception – the buckwheat.
- Malt and barley, same ban is true for malt extract, malt syrup, malt vinegar, malt flavoring.
- Rye which is included in most part of breads
- Breaded or floured meat, poultry, seafood and vegetables, if the white wheat is used for breading. Also meat, vegetables and so on are not gluten-free if they come with marinade or sauce with gluten-containing ingredients.
- Meals which was cooked in same oil that was used for traditional breaded products, sometimes it’s enough to get gluten with it.
- Licorice or other candies that include white wheat or barley.
- Beer. There are some sorts that are made from gluten-free grains, don’t trust to ones if label says it was produced from barley and gluten was removed after.
- Dextrin. Sometimes there is no mark on the label that this one was made with wheat.
- Flavorings are gluten free mostly but sometimes can contain barley or wheat. Actually this stuff is regulated by the law but in extremely rare cases label can be wrong about it.
- Modified food starch if there is no separately notice on the label about wheat it’s gluten-free product.
- The gluten-free food can contain wheat starch if it was processed for removing gluten protein. It is shown by proper label, if food doesn’t carry gluten-free mark, it’s better to avoid it.
- Oats are suitable for celiac diet if they were treated to exclude cross-contamination with grains which contain gluten. These oats have gluten-free seal. It also can be part of other food and if final product meets FDA gluten requirements it’s ok, but if you don’t see proper label, it can be considered as gluten-free food.
- Prescription and over-the-counter drugs can have gluten inside though it’s rare deal. So if you take any medicine it’s better to consult with doctor to choose right gluten-free drug.
- Real cheese is free from gluten but processed ones can contain this protein.
- Seasoning and seasoning mixes can have mark “wheat” on the label, so they can be not gluten-free.
- Soy sauce is traditionally made from wheat, there are some gluten-free kinds, just follow the label.
The caramel color is produced from the corn in most cases. The NA companies use it because it makes product better. It’s rarely deal if malt syrup is used in so the caramel syrup is almost always gluten-free.
The law says that phrase “hydrolyzed vegetable protein” cannot be used on the food label so it would be written or “hydrolyzed wheat protein” which is dangerous for celiac suffer or “hydrolyzed soy protein” that means it’s no gluten inside.