The gluten-free diet can seem very difficult in the beginning. It’s time to change your nutrition way and habits totally and learn which meals can hurt you and damage your health.
It’s good that FDA gave strict recommendations about packaged foods labeling about gluten including but anyway we can face with exceptions. Some food doesn’t contain gluten naturally, for example, fruit and so on and those kinds of products may not have gluten-free label. So it will be useful to learn about these meals more.
If you have lunch or dinner outside, you don’t have chance to see package label as well and it’s only way to save own health it’s to rely on stuff honesty and competence and on own knowledge mostly.
There are well-known axioms: the wheat, bread and pasta are forbidden. But how to be with buckwheat or farro? Or Couscous?
Let’s talk about foods which you see below, those kinds can confuse your mind about its gluten content.
Note: for people who suffer from an extreme sensitivity or celiac disease, this text mainly tells about the grains themselves. It doesn’t touch specific brands or products which can expose to cross-contamination.
Yes, this grain contains “wheat” in its name exactly but in spite of this it doesn’t contain gluten. If you ask any botanic you would get an answer that buckwheat isn’t a grain even, it’s a seed or “pseudograin” that means it can be cooked as a grain. There are a lot of baking pieces from the buckwheat: bread, pancakes, and noodles.
The buckwheat by itself gives quite bitter flour so usually buckwheat is mixing with other grains. The good example is Japanese buckwheat soba noodles, it became very popular since gluten-free folly is going over the world. Well, those noodles dough are blended in regular wheat.
What did we learn now? It’s necessary to read label.
It’s a gluten-free too if we talk about grains. The dangerous moment consists in the fact that oats are grown and harvested near wheat and barley so it’s a great risk of cross-contamination. As researching shows people with gluten sensitivity can eat oats mostly without any damage but for ones with celiac disease or high sensitivity it’s strongly recommended to use only oats with gluten-free marks.
If you ever have visited Jamba Juice during last 10 years you have probably seen little shots of green juice there, they blend the wheatgrass there. This plant contains a plenty of useful issues and provides detoxification, boosted energy as well as it’s extremely rich about vitamins.
Even if the wheatgrass grows from berries of regular wheat only its seeds (grain) contain gluten, sprouted grass from purely grown wheatgrass is totally gluten-free.
Yes, there is risk of cross-contamination if this conditions of purely growing or right harvesting before forming of seed weren’t followed so if you have celiac or high gluten sensitivity it’s better to avoid this meal.
The couscous is outwardly similar with fat rice and some people use it like this only but it’s not truth. It’s not even a plant. The couscous is produced from semolina wheat, it rolled in small balls so it’s just small ball-shaped pasta. And it contains gluten.
It looks like rice but it’s just pasta like the item we have talked above. It was made from semolina wheat and it’s not gluten-free.
This ancient grain is famous from Italian cuisine. It can be used for salads like orzo, couscous or rice. Farro contains three wheat species so it can’t be free of gluten.
4. Wheat berries
So this stuff has word “wheat” in its name and contains gluten as well. It’s not a surprise, in fact wheat berries are what a wheat is made from. The berries are often used in salads in the way like rice is using.
It’s a traditional grain that people use for ages. It’s also known as hulled wheat or dinkel wheat. You can see bread from the spelt flour in the healthy food sections at stores and it can be alternative to common bread. But be careful it’s not gluten-free.
You can hear its other names too: Pharoah wheat or Khorasan wheat because it came to us directly from Egyptian tombs. Kamut is a kind of wheat so it has gluten inside.
However, there are people with gluten sensitivity but non-celiac yet who can tolerate with it.
7. Soy sauce
The first idea about soy sauce, that come, it’s not a grain. Well, it’s truth but it’s a food so it’s worthy to think if it contains gluten. The second idea is this stuff is producing from soybeans… hmm… wrong too. Almost whole soy sauces which are selling in USA contain wheat because it’s a part of fermentation process. So it’s worthy to be careful of any food in Asian restaurant which comes with brownish sauce, probably the base of it is soy sauce and then you are in a great risk. Other dangerous sauces are ponzu, fish sauce and oyster sauce.
But there is good news, you can find gluten-free soy sauce in big markets, many brands produce it now. So follow the gluten-free labels and be sure about product quality.
It seems we talked almost whole question-rising items which come to mind when you face with gluten-free nutrition. Someone can thing it’s too much to remember but it really goes easy with time. Actually anyone can find a lot of gluten-free food now even replica of traditional gluten-containing meals in gluten-free variant.
Feel free to ask and comment at Facebook page. Maybe there stayed some unclear moments or you are not sure if other food is gluten-free? You are welcome.